Eight students earn KBOCC degrees

KBOCC GRADUATES–Earning associate degrees, l-r, were Danielle Hueckstaedt, Lindsey Loonsfoot, WabaNunGoQuay Alakayak, Nancy Pawlowski, Terri Curtis, Dylan Friisvall, Dawn Gauthier, and Veronica Adams. Photos by Lauri Denomie.


Eight individuals received associate degrees Saturday, May 2, 2015 as the Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College (KBOCC) held its honors and commencement ceremony at the Niiwin Akeaa Center in Baraga.  KBOCC Board of Regents chair Kathleen Mayo served as master of ceremonies for the event. Lynn Aho, dean of instruction, presented graduates with their diplomas. KBOCC president Debra Parrish and Elizabeth Veker-King, dean of student services, presented a number of special awards. Faculty members Megan Haataja, Jesse Koenig, Andrew Kozich and Cheryl LaRose handed out departmental awards. To read more, subscribe to the L’Anse Sentinel online, or buy a print copy at our local retailers..