Honors convocation in-person; Many earn annual awards

HONORS CONVOCATION–L’Anse Area Schools annual awards program took place last Wednesday, in person. William Jarvey Memorial Award nominees include l-r, Alayna Waara, DySean Allen, Kayla Kujansuu, Mara Grentz, Maija Rice, Natalie Swanson and Kathleen Tollefson. The Jarvey award was presented to Swanson.

by Melissa Newland

L’Anse Area School (LAS) recognized students who were awarded medals for the 2020-21 school year for Honor’s Convocation. The presentation was held May 19, 2021 at the LAS gymnasium, starting off with the processional “Celebration March” by Bob Cotter, played by the 7-12 grade band and directed by Aaron Poniatowski. The processional was led by Valedictorian Alayna Waara and Salutatorian Daniel Williams, with a welcome speech given by Superintendent Susan Tollefson. Tollefson gave the introduction of the speaker, Dr. Daniel Cavanaugh, a 2005 L’Anse High School graduate. To read more, subscribe to the L’Anse Sentinel online, or buy a print copy at our local retailers.